10 foods that are surprisingly not vegan

The standard, Lea & Perrins, contains malt vinegar, spirit vinegar, molasses, sugar, salt, anchovies, tamarind extract, onions, garlic, spice, and flavorings

Worcestershire sauce

There’s no actual cream in the cream filling of a Twinkie, nor do they contain gelatin.

Twinkies

Thankfully, there are numerous vegan protein powders available, including varieties made by Vega, Naked Pea, and KOS.

Protein powders

These pre-made crusts actually contain lard, which is entirely composed of animal fat.

Pre-made pie crust

To be safe, you can stick with the three vegan options: Unfrosted Strawberry, Unfrosted Blueberry, and Unfrosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon.

Pop Tarts with frosting

Planter’s Dry Roasted Peanuts use a small amount of gelatin to get the salt and spices to stick. That’s nuts!

Planter’s Dry Roasted Peanuts

If you think passing on the Big Mac and having fries instead is the vegan choice, think again. McDonald's fries contain beef flavoring

McDonald’s fries

Marshmallows contain gelatin, which, as we already covered, is made from animal collagen. Fluff doesn’t contain gelatin, but it includes egg whites.

Marshmallows

Most flavors of Jell-O instant pudding do not contain milk-based ingredients or any other animal byproducts and are okay for vegans.

Jell-O

Since honey is made by bees, it is technically an animal byproduct, and the harvesting of honey can potentially harm bees.

Honey

BOOST IMMUNE SYSTEM WITH TASTY FOODS